2012 Festival

2012 Tipperary Drama Festival

Marie Kelly has been in theatre since 1993 and was Casting Director at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin between 2001 and 2006. She has an MA in Modern Drama and Performance from University College Dublin and has just finished her doctoral studies on theatre and consciousness at the same university. She is currently a freelance theatre professional: specialising in casting, producing, dramaturgy, guest lecturing and theatre research. Her book, The Theatre of Tom Mac Intyre: Strays from the ether, was co-edited with fellow practitioner and lecturer Dr. Bernadette Sweeney and published by Carysfort Press in 2010.

Fri March 16th ( Confined )        The Memory of Water by Shelagh Stephenson         Holycross Ballycahill D.G

Sat March 17th ( Confined )         The Two loves of Gabriel Foley By Jimmy Keary     Shannonside D.G

Sun March 18th ( Confined )       Dancing at Lughnassa by Brian Friel                         Conna D.G

Mon March 19th ( Open )      Jerusalem by Jes Wutterworth                                     Silken Thomas D.G

Tue March 20th  ( Confined )       The Weir By Colin McPhearson                                   Doonbeg D.G

Wed March 21st ( Open )       The Seafarer By Colin McPhearson                            Thurles D.G

 Thur March 22nd ( Open )     Dr Jeckyl and Mr. Hyde                                                   Nenagh D.G

 Fri March 23rd ( Open )         Who is afraid of Virginia Wolfe by Vintage Albee        Haulbowline T.G

 Sat March 24th ( Open )         By the Bog of Cats By Marina Carr                               Bunclody D.G



HANNIFIN CUP  (Entertaining Play)  “The Seafarer” Thurles D.G.

GALLAGHER AWARD (for most promising actor) Colin Malone as Marky/ Silken Thomas

DR.MORRIS MEMORIAL CUP  [ Tipperary Group)   Thurles D.G.

BEST SET OVERALL[Josie Slattery Perptual Trophy] “Jerusalem”Silken Thomas


 1st ADJUDICATOR AWARD –  Micheal O’Brien For Stage Management Nenagh D.G.

 2nd ADJUDICATOR AWARD “Kevin McEvoy & Fran O’Brien Bunclody/Kilmyshal DG



BEST ACTOR :   Edward Dillon as Gabriel “The Two Loves of Gabriel Foley”Shannonside

BEST ACTRESS ..Jacqui Lacey as Catherine “The Memory of Water”Holycross/B.cahill

BEST SUPP.ACTOR…Marty O’Neill as Mike”The Memory of Water”Holycross/B.cahill

BEST SUPP. ACTRESS.. Gemma Barry as Chris”Dancing at Lughnassa” Conna D.G.

3rd  “ The Two Loves of Gabriel Foley”   Shannonside D.G.

2nd    “Dancing at Lughnassa”  Conna D.G.

1st    “ The Memory of Water”  Holycross/Ballycahill D.G.      

BEST PRODUCER —  Pat McGrath “The Memory of Water” Holycross/Ballycahill D.G



                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      BEST ACTOR (Matthew Bourke) Liam Quinlivan as Dawn/”Jerusalem” Silken Thomas

BEST ACTRESS .. Ciayle Jorden as Hester Swane/”Bog of Cats” Bunclody D.G.

BEST SUPP.ACTOR –Matt Treacy as Ivan curry /”The Seafarer” Thurles D.G.

BEST SUPP.ACTRESS.. Josephine Byrne as Catwoman/”By the Bog of Cats”Bunclody

3rd  “By the Bog of Cats” Bunclody / Kilmyshal D.G.

2nd   “Jerusalem”  Silken Thomas Players                                                                                                                                 

1st        TIPP FM TROPHY   “The Seafarer” Thurles D.G.

BEST PRODUCER:  (Frank Gleeson Award)     Margaret McCormack Thurles D.G.

Schools Drama: WINNER : St.Joseph’s Doon : Bog Oak – Ursuline Convent,Thurles


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *